top of page

10 Things Your Wedding Coordinator Will Do For You

When you think of a wedding coordinator, what comes to mind? For me, it's JLo in The Wedding Planner wearing her headset and heels while carrying her binder and tying up all the loose ends. And that's pretty accurate! Except I'm digital now, so no binder. And definitely no heels...


Coordinators do sooooo much on the wedding day! Here are 10 things you might not know we usually handle...


1. Customize Your Timeline After years of making wedding timelines, I've nailed down a couple templates that work for most events. All I need to do is change the start time and end time, and we're ready to roll! But, I take it one step further by customizing it to your specific needs. Maybe you want to do multiple first looks with friends and family members, maybe you have no speeches or 10 speeches, maybe you just want some time to chill with your honey before the reception starts. We can work all of that in!


2. Touch Every Detail Whether you DIY the décor or hire a vendor to take care of it, I make sure to keep an eye out for every little detail. Lighting candles, adjusting florals, and tidying up the space are just the beginning!


3. Coordinate The Rehearsal The rehearsal is exactly that, a rehearsal. This practice of when to be where will answer so many of your bridal party's questions and gives the opportunity to work out any hiccups before the big day. As a coordinator, I will wrangle all your loved ones into the processional, show them where to stand and how to stand during the ceremony, the recessional, and give some extra tips along the way to make sure your photos come out S T U N N I N G.


4. Carry Your Stuff Wedding gowns with pockets are becoming more popular, but you won't have room for everything! I've got your lipstick for touch-ups, phone for candid, personal pictures, and anything else you might need to quickly grab throughout the day.


5. Carry An Emergency Kit Speaking of what I'm carrying...I have an emergency kit! Okay, technically, it's an emergency fanny pack. But it's super cute, trust me. This magical bag has every little thing you could think of from first aid to floss picks to hair pins to scissors and so much more!


6. Communicate With Vendors Once we have your timeline worked out, I will send a copy to every vendor on the schedule. This usually includes the venue manager, photographer, videographer, florist if on-site, decorator, and DJ. This copy goes out a week before the event so that vendors can suggest changes if needed. Photographers usually know when the lighting will be best, so there is a little wiggle room built in to the timeline.


7. Meet Before The Big Day Even if you only hire me for day-of coordination, we need to chat beforehand. That is why I call my version of day-of coordination "month-of" coordination. Greenwood Weddings includes a minimum of two 2-hour meetings (4 weeks and 2 weeks prior). This means we can get to know each other, go over all your priorities, and talk details. I always say that I will be "lovingly all up in your business" on your wedding day, so it's nice to get to know each other before we spend 8 hours together on the biggest day of your life!


8. Get Behind The Scenes Moments One of my favorite things to do during a wedding is capture little moments that no one sees besides the coordinator. Because I'm running all over the place all day and chatting with every person involved, I get to see super sweet, funny, personal moments throughout the day that I love to share with my clients after.


9. Enforce The No-Phone Policy If you want an unplugged ceremony, I've got your back! At the rehearsal, I will make sure the officiant knows to announce that all phones are to be silenced and put away before the ceremony begins. During the ceremony, I will quietly remind those who feel the need to snap a few pictures that the couple kindly requests they put away their phone and enjoy the moment.


10. Be In Your Corner This is my #1 priority. Weddings bring out the crazy in some people, and they mean it with the best intentions! But if Aunt Sally keeps trying to come in to the bridal suite while you're getting ready or Uncle Joe is chatting away while you're trying to hit the dancefloor, I will be there to buffer! Consider me your personal bodyguard for the day. I will get you where you want to be exactly when you want to be there.


This is just a tiny peek at everything coordinators do... Which means, you don't have to! Your job is to sit back, relax, take a deep breath, and get married!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page